Fine Art Resale: Auction vs Gallery vs Private Sale

Sell a $200,000 painting at a major auction house and the buyer pays roughly $256,000 — but you, the consignor, may net closer to $165,000 after a 15% seller’s commission and ancillary charges. That spread between what a buyer pays and what a seller receives is the central, under-examined cost of fine art resale, and it varies enormously across the three exit channels available to a $150k+ collector: auction, gallery, and private sale.

The gap is not a rounding error. On a mid-six-figure work, the difference in net proceeds between the best and worst channel can exceed $30,000 — real money that rarely appears in the glossy results coverage celebrating record hammer prices.

This analysis models fine art resale economics for individual sellers consigning works in the roughly $50,000–$2 million range, the segment where channel choice most affects net proceeds. Auction fee schedules cited reflect Sotheby’s and Christie’s published US terms as of February 2026 and change frequently — both houses revised buyer’s premiums three times between 2024 and 2026. Seller’s commission at the top of the market is bespoke and individually negotiated; the figures here represent standard published rates, not guaranteed terms. Gallery and private sale commissions are not publicly disclosed and are modeled from industry-reported ranges. This is cost analysis, not investment or financial advice, and excludes capital gains tax treatment, which varies by holding period and jurisdiction.

The three channels, by the numbers

Fine art has exactly three resale routes, and they price risk and discretion very differently. Auction houses run a public, time-bound competitive sale. Galleries and dealers sell on consignment through private networks. Brokered private sales match a known buyer to a known work outside any public record. Each charges the seller in a structurally different way.

Fine Art Resale: Key Cost Figures at a Glance
Metric Figure
Standard auction seller’s commission 15% of hammer price (negotiable)
Sotheby’s buyer’s premium (lowest tier, US) 28% on hammer up to $2M
Christie’s buyer’s premium (lowest tier, US) 27% on hammer up to $1.5M
Typical gallery/dealer consignment commission 20%–50% of sale price
Global public auction sales, 2025 $20.7 billion

Sources: Sotheby’s and Christie’s published fee schedules via The Art Newspaper and Antiques Trade Gazette (February 2026); MyArtBroker auction fee guide (January 2026); The Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2026 by Arts Economics.

One distinction matters before any modeling. The buyer’s premium is paid by the buyer, on top of the hammer price. The seller’s commission is deducted from the hammer price before the consignor is paid. Both reduce what a seller nets, but indirectly: a high buyer’s premium suppresses what bidders are willing to pay at the hammer, because their total outlay is hammer plus premium. The premium is, in effect, a tax on the seller disguised as a charge on the buyer.

What the auction house actually keeps

Consider the structure as it stands in early 2026. Sotheby’s, effective February 13, 2026, charges US buyers 28% on the hammer price up to $2 million, 22% from $2 million to $8 million, and 15% above $8 million, as The Art Newspaper reported. Christie’s, after its September 2025 revision, charges 27% up to $1.5 million, 22% from $1.5 million to $8 million, and 15% above that.

On the seller’s side, the published standard commission at both houses is 15% of the hammer price, though MyArtBroker’s January 2026 fee guide notes this is routinely negotiated downward for desirable works and waived entirely at the very top. Sotheby’s also retains a 2% “success fee” on any lot hammering above its high estimate, unless the lot is guaranteed. Layer in loss-damage-and-liability insurance, cataloguing, photography, and marketing — each a separate line item — and the seller’s all-in cost at auction typically lands between 17% and 22% of hammer for a non-marquee work.

Model a $200,000 hammer at Sotheby’s. The buyer pays $256,000 ($200,000 plus 28%). The seller pays 15% commission ($30,000) plus roughly $5,000 in ancillaries, netting about $165,000. The house collects $56,000 from the buyer and $30,000 from the seller — $86,000 gross on a single transaction, against a work the consignor walks away from with 82.5% of hammer.

This is where the headline-versus-reality gap lives. Coverage reports the $256,000 “sale.” The seller experienced a $165,000 outcome. The $91,000 wedge between them is the cost of the channel.

Galleries: discretion at a variable price

Dealers and galleries operate on consignment, and their commission structure is the least transparent of the three channels. Published industry ranges put gallery consignment commission anywhere from 20% to 50% of the sale price, with the rate inversely correlated to the work’s desirability and the seller’s leverage. A blue-chip name a gallery is eager to handle might cost 20%; an illiquid work the dealer takes on reluctantly might cost 50%.

What galleries sell, and auction houses cannot, is discretion. There is no public record of an unsold work, no failed-lot stigma, no time pressure. ARTnews reported in 2024 that galleries actively courted secondary-market consignments after Sotheby’s raised seller fees, with one gallery head noting that dealers retained more flexibility on commission than the houses. The trade-off is speed and certainty: a gallery may hold a work for months or years, and the seller has no guaranteed sale date.

Model the same work — assume a gallery places it privately for $230,000 (below the auction buyer’s-inclusive total, because the buyer avoids a premium) at a 30% commission. The seller nets $161,000. Close to the auction outcome on net, but achieved privately, without exposure, and without the risk of a public buy-in if bidding falls short.

Private sale: the lowest friction, the highest matching cost

A brokered private sale removes the auction apparatus entirely. There is no buyer’s premium, no public catalogue, no reserve risk. Specialist brokers and private-sale desks at the auction houses charge the seller a negotiated commission, commonly cited in the 5%–15% range depending on the work and the broker’s role in sourcing the buyer. Some print-and-edition specialists, such as MyArtBroker, advertise a 0% seller’s fee model, generating revenue from the buyer’s side instead.

The catch is matching. A private sale only works if a willing buyer at the right price already exists or can be found discreetly. For a liquid, in-demand work, this is the cheapest exit by a wide margin. For an idiosyncratic work without an obvious buyer, the private channel can stall indefinitely — the cost is not a fee but an indefinite hold and an unrealized sale.

Reported private auction-house sales actually declined to just under $4.2 billion in 2025, down 4% year over year, even as public auction sales rose 9% to $20.7 billion, per the Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2026. The private channel is structurally cheaper for the seller but harder to execute at scale, which partly explains why volume concentrates in the public salerooms despite their higher cost.

The Finluxy Resale Premium Index, by channel

The headline numbers above describe transaction cost. They do not, on their own, tell a seller whether the underlying work held its value — and that is the question that actually determines whether a resale is a gain or a loss. The Finluxy Resale Premium Index isolates that variable by expressing the secondary market value as a percentage of original retail, independent of which channel handles the sale.

The index is calculated as (secondary market price ÷ original retail price) × 100. Above 100 means the work appreciated in absolute terms; below 100 means it depreciated. Applied to a worked example: a contemporary painting bought from a primary-market gallery in 2015 for $120,000 and resold at a 2025 hammer of $200,000 carries an index of 166.7 — the same arithmetic the Index uses across every luxury category, from a Birkin’s resale economics to a watch.

Finluxy Resale Premium Index and Net Proceeds by Channel — $200,000 Secondary Market Value, $120,000 Original Retail
Channel Gross sale basis Seller cost Seller net proceeds Resale Premium Index
Auction (Sotheby’s, $200K hammer) $200,000 hammer ~17.5% (commission + ancillaries) ~$165,000 166.7
Gallery consignment $230,000 private price 30% commission ~$161,000 166.7
Brokered private sale $210,000 negotiated 10% commission ~$189,000 166.7

Index calculated per Finluxy methodology: (secondary market value ÷ original retail) × 100, using $200,000 as the benchmark secondary market value against $120,000 original retail. Net proceeds modeled from Sotheby’s February 2026 published fee schedule and industry-reported gallery and private-sale commission ranges. Gross sale basis differs by channel because buyers price in the presence or absence of a buyer’s premium.

The Index is identical across channels — 166.7 — because it measures the asset, not the transaction. The work appreciated 66.7% over original retail regardless of how it sells. What changes is the seller’s net: the private-sale model, in this illustration, returns roughly $24,000 more than gallery consignment on the same underlying asset. The Index tells you whether you have a winner; the channel math tells you how much of that win you keep.

What most coverage overlooks

Here is the finding buried in the fee schedules: the buyer’s premium, almost always framed as a charge on buyers, is functionally a cost borne by sellers. A rational bidder budgets a total outlay. When Sotheby’s raised its lowest-tier premium from 27% to 28% in February 2026 and doubled the threshold at which that rate applies — from $1 million to $2 million in the US — it widened the wedge between hammer and total cost precisely in the segment where the most works trade. A bidder willing to spend $256,000 all-in will bid a lower hammer when the premium is higher, and the seller’s commission is calculated on that suppressed hammer. The premium hike quietly compresses seller proceeds even though sellers never see a “buyer’s premium” line on their statement.

This also explains the violent fee instability of the past two years. Sotheby’s cut buyer’s premiums in 2024, reversed in February 2025, and raised them again in February 2026; the data shows why. The Art Basel and UBS report documents that works priced $50,000–$250,000 have fallen 29% in market share since 2010 — the squeezed middle where individual sellers most often transact. Houses are recalibrating fees to defend margin in a thinning mid-market, and the seller absorbs the recalibration. For an evaluation of which assets resist that compression, the broader category value retention data is the relevant comparison set.

Methodology

Figures were synthesized under a primary-source-first hierarchy. Auction fee schedules were taken from Sotheby’s and Christie’s published US terms as reported by Antiques Trade Gazette and The Art Newspaper in February 2026, cross-checked against the MyArtBroker fee guides updated January–February 2026. I verified each fee figure against current reporting rather than relying on prior schedules, because both houses revised their buyer’s premium structures multiple times between 2024 and 2026, rendering older figures invalid.

Market-size and segment figures — global public auction sales of $20.7 billion, private auction sales of $4.2 billion, and the 29% decline in the $50,000–$250,000 segment’s market share since 2010 — come from the Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2026, authored by Dr. Clare McAndrew of Arts Economics, the primary benchmark source for this cluster. Gallery and private-sale commission ranges are not publicly disclosed by any party and are modeled from industry-reported ranges; these are presented as ranges, not point figures, per the constraint that undisclosed-methodology figures cannot anchor a key claim. Net-proceeds scenarios are illustrative calculations applying published rates to a stated hypothetical value, not records of specific transactions.

The $150k+ decision

For a household at this income level, the practical question is rarely “which channel charges least” in the abstract — it is “which channel fits this specific work.” Three thresholds structure the decision. Below roughly $50,000, auction ancillary costs and gallery minimums consume too much of the proceeds, and a direct private sale through a specialist platform usually wins. In the $50,000–$500,000 band — the most common range for collectors at this income tier — the choice turns on liquidity: a sought-after name with active demand favors private sale or a competitively negotiated gallery rate, while an illiquid work may need auction’s broad buyer reach to find any bidder at all, accepting the higher fee as the price of liquidity. Above $500,000, seller’s commission becomes genuinely negotiable, and the leverage shifts to the consignor, who can extract waived fees or even a share of the buyer’s premium on a marquee lot.

The error worth avoiding is anchoring on hammer prices in the press. A reported sale figure is a buyer’s-premium-inflated number that the seller never receives. Before consigning anything, model your own net under all three channels using current published rates — the same rates shift often enough that a schedule from eighteen months ago will mislead you — and weigh the dollar difference against how much discretion and certainty each route buys. On a mid-six-figure work, that modeling exercise is worth tens of thousands of dollars of attention, and the timing of the sale relative to market conditions can matter as much as the channel; the same discipline applies whether the asset is a canvas, a watch, or any other appreciating collectible where exit strategy determines realized return.

Does the buyer’s premium reduce what I receive as a seller?

Indirectly, yes. The buyer’s premium is charged to the buyer on top of the hammer price, but bidders budget a total outlay, so a higher premium suppresses what they bid at the hammer. Your seller’s commission is then calculated on that lower hammer. A premium increase quietly compresses seller proceeds even though it never appears as a line item on your statement.

Is the 15% auction seller’s commission fixed?

No. It is the standard published rate but is routinely negotiated, especially for desirable works above roughly $500,000. At the very top of the market, houses may waive the commission entirely and even return a share of the buyer’s premium to secure a marquee consignment. Below that threshold, sellers have little leverage and typically pay close to the published rate plus ancillaries.

Why would a private sale net more than auction?

A private sale carries no buyer’s premium and a lower, negotiated seller’s commission, often in the 5%–15% range. The total cost wedge is smaller. The constraint is matching: a private sale only closes if a willing buyer at the right price already exists, so it works best for liquid, in-demand works and can stall for idiosyncratic pieces.

How current are these fee figures?

The auction figures reflect Sotheby’s and Christie’s published US terms as of February 2026. Both houses revised their buyer’s premium structures repeatedly between 2024 and 2026, so any seller should confirm current published rates before consigning rather than relying on figures even a year old.

Sources & References